Check back soon for details on the 50th Annual Trail of Tears Art Show and Sale (2021)
2020 Grand Prize “Cultural Appropriation” by Jerry Sutton

For information or to be added to the email list for entry forms please contact Callie Chunestudy.

2020 Sponsors: Chickasaw Nation, Bank of Oklahoma, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Rabbit Studios


Trail of Tears Art Show Grand Prize Winners.
1972 Solomon McCombs “Untitled”
1973 Freeman Mitchell “Come on Granny”
1974 David Williams “The Trail of Tears”
1975 Freeman Mitchell “Why Did They Do That To Us?”
1976 Johnny Hawks “Reflections- Yesterday and Today”
1977 Solomon McCombs “The March”
1978 Mike Wimmer “Trail of Tears”
1979 None
1980 Charles Pratt “Indian Territory – Now We Rest”
1981 Jason Stone “Great Blue Heron”
1982 C. A. (Cathy) Rutledge “Her First Basket”
1983 Valjean McCarty Hessing “Journey to Indian Territory”
1984 Parker Boyiddle, “True Dog”
1985 Valjean McCarty Hessing “Trail of Tears”
1986 Gary Montgomery “The Teacher”
1987 Manyi-Ten “Final Harvest in the Palo Duro”
1988 Murv Jacob “Tennessee River Village”
1989 Troy Anderson “Bird Maiden”
1990 Donald Vann “Leaving the Memories”
1991 Barthell Little Chief “Brothers of the Night”
1992 Diana Beach “Tears for Her Children”
1993 Tillier Wesley “Color of the Spirit”
1994 Dorothy Sullivan “She Speaks for Her Clan”
1995 Robby McCurtry “Coke and a Smoke”
1996 Daniel Horsechief “Going Snake’s Trail”
1997 Troy Anderson “Ani-tsa-squa”
1998 Brad McLain “Something Borrowed & Blue”
1999 Bill Glass Jr. “Forced Removal”
2000 Bob Thomason “Spellbound-Ancient Cherokee Ways”
2001 Sonja Ayres “Spiro Chief”
2002 Talmadge Davis “The Headress”
2003 Fred Trompler “Spirit Prayer”
2004 Norma Howard “Gathering River Canes”
2005 K. Henderson “Son of the Earth”
2006 Roy Boney “Our Father”
2007 Joel Queen “In His Own Hand”
2008 Joel Queen “Industrial Strength Basket”
2009 Gary Allen “The Cherokee Birdman”
2010 Norma Howard “Untitled”
2011 Troy Jackson “Putting the Pieces Together”
2012 Dan Corley “Reflections”
2013 Troy Jackson “Waiting on the Tractor”
2014 Troy Jackson “5:00 Friday”
2015 Bill and Demos Glass “Warrior’s Doorway”
2016 Troy Jackson “The Building of a Nation”
2017 Tony Tiger “Metapmorphosis”
2018 Troy Jackson “Adadolisdi – The Prayer”
2019 Troy Jackson “Faith in the Creator” 
2020 Jerry Sutton “Cultural Appropriation”